ESA, the European Space Agency, an international organization with 22 member states. The ESA's main goal is drawing up and carrying out the European space program. The ESA is headquartered in Paris, with sites in a number of European countries, including Germany, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and the UK. ESA has a staff of about 2200 people from all member states.